South Africa considers a 12th official language | BUSINESSTECH

The Parliamentary Constitutional Review Committee is considering recognising South African Sign Language as the 12th official language.

Deputy minister in the Presidency Department of Women Youth and Persons with Disabilities, Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize, said parliament was considering amending Section 30 of the Constitution and the National Official Languages.

“I want to emphasise that South African Sign Language is a right and not a privilege, and is a language of the first line of commutation for deaf people.

Read more.